Little things do matter

Today I am telling myself that the little things I do, matter.  Reminding myself to take a bite of food, lay the fork down, chew and enjoy.  Repeat.  No gobbling like it is my last meal, paying attention to when my tummy says “I have had enough.”

I suffer with GERD and acid reflux so slowing down at meal times will be a big positive for me.  I also struggle with depression and anxiety, these are real, not something I made up. So few people truly realize that depression and anxiety are as much a real disease as diabetes or heart disease.  I have been diagnosed as diabetic but I have chosen to ignore this diagnosis and hope the weight loss and new exercise program will make a difference in those areas.  High cholesterol is another problem, but unfortunately this runs in my family on my mother’s side. As well as heart disease and stroke…yeah me!

I am on Facebook and truly enjoy reading posts and seeing the pictures and videos posted that are humorous.  I have 4 children, 3 girls and 1 boy, my son, is married to a wonderful young lady, and I have 2 adorable grand-daughters.  I was previously married, which didn’t work out very well. But now I am happily married to my best friend, he is my rock in all things.  Lucky for me he is loving and understanding with my many faults and I could not imagine where my life would be today without him.  I attend a local Church and believe God has a plan for everyone, but sometimes we take things in our own hands and make a mess. God is good and faithful to be there when I need Him, even when I fail to follow His teachings.

This attempt to lose weight is the first time I have been serious about it, truly believing I did not have the will power needed before.  I have always looked at programs to lose weight and could not justify the costs, plus I feel many of the ads are misleading; the celebrities lose a lot of weight on the program but they fail to mention they have a personal trainer and a serious exercise regimen. The commercials want me to believe that if I drink this shake, count these points, or order the frozen prepared meals I am golden, no other efforts required.  Although I laughingly asked the doctor about bariatric surgery I was not 100% sincere.  I have since then read some blogs on bariatric surgery and some of the requirements you have to follow are much harder than I expected.  I personally know 3 people who have had bariatric surgery, 2 of which are very successful. But when we go out to eat and she only has a roll, I rethink any interest I may have had.

I LOVE FOOD! I love to cook, and bake, and especially to eat out since I dislike doing dishes.  If you are friends with me on Facebook you will realize that many of my posts concern food; where and what I am eating and how wonderful the food looks, smells, and tastes.

Better get of here and exercise, but I am not excited about it, lol

Leave a Reply

